Wheat Intolerance

Wheat intolerance or an allergy to wheat may cause a number of symptoms, as is typical with food allergies. The treatment, however, is as simple as removing wheat from the diet. As seemingly simple as that may sound, however, it can be surprising to find out how much of one’s diet is made up of products containing wheat.

Most people with wheat intolerance do well by following a gluten-free diet, as those with coeliac condition do. Gluten is found in wheat itself as well as barley and rye. Wheat includes semolina, durum, farina, and graham flour, so any products containing these ingredients should be eliminated.

Many products containing wheat can be replaced by gluten-free alternatives that are readily available in supermarkets today. The Food Standards Agency does point out, though, that some gluten-free products may not be suitable for people with wheat intolerance, so urges people to read labels.

Typical foods containing wheat ingredients are cereals, pasta, bread, biscuits or crackers, pies, pastries, cakes, gravies, sauces, and oats. Products made with rice and rice flours as well as other flours like corn, soy, and potato are excellent substitutes for wheat products.

The diet for wheat intolerance should then contain vegetables, fruits, potatoes, dairy, eggs, lean meat, and fish. Even with the elimination of wheat products, it is still possible to eat a healthy diet.

Supplements that may help with wheat intolerance are the B vitamins, as well as vitamin D, which help the immune system. For those who have experienced gastrointestinal problems resulting from wheat intolerance, probiotics can help return the intestines to a healthier state.

Was this post helpful?